HomeEntertainmentNigerian Music Dominates 2024 MOBO Awards Nominations: A Showcase of African Excellence"

Nigerian Music Dominates 2024 MOBO Awards Nominations: A Showcase of African Excellence”

The pulse of African music is resounding loud and clear as the nominations for the highly anticipated 2024 MOBO Awards are unveiled. This year’s list is a testament to the global impact of Nigerian superstars, who have taken center stage in the Best African category. Let’s delve into the exciting lineup of nominees and the diverse musical talents that have captured the world’s attention.

Best African Music Act: Nigeria shines bright with a stellar lineup of nominees in the Best African category. From industry giants like Burna Boy, Wizkid, and Davido to rising stars like Rema, Asake, and Adekunle Gold, the diversity and richness of Nigerian music take the spotlight. Joining the ranks are continental talents such as Tyla, Uncle Waffles, and Cameroonian-American sensation Libianca.

The MOBO Awards cover a spectrum of musical genres, recognizing outstanding achievements in categories such as Best Male and Female Act, Album of the Year, and Song of the Year. Notable contenders include J Hus, Stormzy, Little Simz, and PinkPantheress, each contributing to the vibrant tapestry of the global music scene.

Emerging Talents and Newcomers: Celebrating fresh voices, the Best Newcomer category introduces us to rising talents like Ama Lou, AntsLive, and Tamera, promising a dynamic future for the music industry. Their unique sounds and perspectives bring a fresh energy to the MOBO Awards stage.

Visual Brilliance in Video of the Year: The excitement extends beyond audio to visual excellence with the Video of the Year category. From AntsLive’s “Number One Candidate” to Stormzy’s “Mel Made Me Do It,” these visuals, directed by creative minds like Tom Emmerson and Dave Meyers, add a visual dimension to the musical experience.

Beyond the African continent, the MOBO Awards acknowledge international acts, including Best International Act (US). Icons like Doja Cat, Drake & 21 Savage, and SZA represent the global reach of contemporary music.

The MOBO Awards celebrate diversity not only in music but also in media and entertainment. Categories like Best Performance in a TV Show/Film and Best Media Personality showcase the multifaceted talents and personalities that contribute to the cultural landscape.

See full nominations list below.

  • Central Cee
  • Dave
  • D-Block Europe
  • J Hus
  • Nines
  • Stormzy
  • Flo
  • Jorja Smith
  • Little Simz
  • Mahalia
  • PinkPantheress
  • Raye

Ezra Collective – Where I’m Meant To Be

J Hus – Beautiful and Brutal Yard

Little Simz – No Thank You

Potter Payper – Real Back in Style

Raye – My 21st Century Blues

Stormzy – This Is What We Mean

  • Central Cee & Dave – Sprinter
  • J Hus – Who Told You (ft Drake)
  • Jorja Smith – Little Things
  • PinkPantheress & Ice Spice – Boy’s a Liar Pt 2
  • Raye & 070 Shake – Escapism
  • Stormzy – Hide & Seek
  • Ama Lou
  • AntsLive
  • Debbie
  • Jayo
  • Nippa
  • No Guidnce
  • Rimzee
  • Strandz
  • Tamera
  • Tunde
  • AntsLive – Number One Candidate (dir Tom Emmerson)
  • Enny – No More Naija Men (dir Otis Dominique)
  • Jords – Dirt in the Diamond EP1: Mobay ft Tay Iwar / Stay Close ft Kranium (dir Renee Maria Osubu)
  • Little Simz – Gorilla (dir Dave Meyers)
  • Stormzy – Mel Made Me Do It (dir Klvdr)
  • Tion Wayne – Healing (dir Wowa)
  • Bellah
  • Jaz Karis
  • Mahalia
  • Ragz Originale
  • Sampha
  • Sault
  • Avelino
  • Clavish
  • Digga D
  • Enny
  • Fredo
  • Giggs
  • Little Simz
  • Loyle Carner
  • Nines
  • Potter Payper
  • Bugzy Malone
  • Duppy
  • Flowdan
  • Manga Saint Hilare
  • Novelist
  • P Money
  • Central Cee
  • Headie One
  • K-Trap
  • Kwengface
  • M24
  • Russ Millions
  • TeeZandos
  • Unknown T
  • Doja Cat
  • Drake & 21 Savage
  • Travis Scott
  • Ice Spice
  • Latto
  • Lil Uzi Vert
  • Nicki Minaj
  • Sexyy Red
  • SZA
  • Victoria Monét
  • Adjani Salmon – Dreaming Whilst Black
  • Damson Idris – Snowfall
  • Deja J Bowens – Champion
  • Idris Elba – Hijack
  • India Amarteifio – Queen Charlotte: A Bridgerton Story
  • John Boyega – They Cloned Tyrone
  • Lashana Lynch – The Woman King

Best media personality

  • Alison Hammond
  • Amelia Dimoldenberg
  • Henrie Kwushue
  • Madame Joyce
  • Maya Jama
  • Pressed podcast
  • Remi Burgz
  • ShxtsnGigs
  • Specs Gonzalez
  • Zeze Millz
  • Adekunle Gold
  • Asake
  • Ayra Starr
  • Burna Boy
  • Davido
  • Libianca
  • Rema
  • Tyla
  • Uncle Waffles
  • Wizkid
  • Byron Messia
  • Destra
  • Kabaka Pyramid
  • Popcaan
  • Shenseea
  • Valiant
  • Blue Lab Beats
  • Cktrl
  • Ezra Collective
  • Masego
  • Reuben James
  • Yazmin Lacey
  • Alt Blk Era
  • Arlo Parks
  • Deijuvhs
  • Kid Bookie
  • Skindred
  • Young Fathers
  • Aluna
  • Nia Archives
  • PinkPantheress
  • Salute
  • Shygirl
  • Tsha
  • Info
  • Kyle Evans
  • M1onTheBeat
  • P2J
  • Steel Banglez
  • TSB
  • Annatoria
  • CalledOut Music
  • Guvna B
  • Limoblaze
  • Tofunmi Adorna
  • Triple O

The 2024 MOBO Awards promise an unforgettable celebration of African and global music excellence. As Nigerian artists take the lead, the nominations reflect the undeniable influence and innovation emanating from the heart of Africa. Get ready for a night that transcends borders and unites music enthusiasts worldwide in the spirit of rhythm, melody, and cultural diversity.

Leave a Reply

Must Read